Making Progress with Eggs

First of all, if you dig my cupcakes go vote for them!  I recommend the Merlot cupcakes, but if you prefer coconut, vote for that one, too!

One of Z’s favorite dinners is chicken teriyaki with stir-fried vegetables and rice.  I currently use a storebought sauce for the marinade, but have been meaning to develop my own sauce eventually.  I’ll be taking a step in that direction in the next couple of days…I have some tofu and pineapple juice (and a whole pineapple!) that I want to put together.  Otherwise, we’ve pretty much perfected the formula…the right vegetables, fresh minced ginger and garlic…everything except the rice.

Z really wanted fried rice, and I had no idea how to make it!  Outside of baking, I was intimidated by eggs until recently (I just can’t really bring myself to eat them, I can’t get over the smell, so I never learned to make them), but I’ve made Z a few breakfast sandwiches and am feeling a little more confident with them.  So, I found a super easy recipe and went for it.

I cooked the rice for longer than the recipe I based this off of indicated, but Z wanted his rice kind of crispy.  If you don’t like crunchy bits, just cook it until it’s thoroughly hot.  You can also add bits of veggies and/or meat into this, but since he was having it with veggies and chicken anyway I kept it simple.

Easy Fried Rice

Crunchy...eggy...ricey...

Crunchy...eggy...ricey...

1 small green onion, or 1/2 of a medium one, minced

2 Tbsp oil for frying (I used light olive oil)

1 large egg

Salt & pepper to taste

About 2 cups white rice, cooked & chilled (I used jasmine)

1 Tbsp soy sauce, more or less to taste

Heat 1 Tbsp oil in a large pan or wok, then scramble the egg with the salt & pepper.  Once cooked but not dry, remove egg from pan and set aside.  Heat more oil (if you’re using the same pan, wash it in between) and add the onion.  Saute for a couple minutes, or until soft.  Add rice and continue to saute for at least 5 minutes, then add the egg and soy sauce and continue to saute until everything is uniformly hot.  If you like your fried rice crunchy, pat it into the pan and press down with a wooden spoon, then stir well and repeat until it’s just the way you want it.

This turned out perfectly and was really tasty.  I even tried it, with the egg.  I still can’t get over the egg (I’m trying!), but it was good.  Z loved it and it’s so easy that I wouldn’t mind making it regularly.

I’ll have more fun stuff to post about soon, I hope.  It’s not that I haven’t been cooking, I just haven’t been cooking anything new.  I made more awesome chocolate chip cookies…I did pick up my Silpat at the post office today, though, so I’ll be using that soon!

Leave a Reply

