So I Noticed…

Christmas is only a few days away…and I’ve been intending to make edible goodies for people (and a couple non-edible handcrafted items).  Soooo I started last night.  I had egg whites left over from making the wine frosting the other night, and had been seeing a lot of super cute little peppermint meringues on others’ blogs, so I decided to try my hand at them.  Plus, have I mentioned how utterly fascinated I am by the half-magic, half-science properties of whipped eggs?  Yes, I have.

I'm FESTIVE!...And refreshing!

I'm FESTIVE!...And refreshing!

I’d seen peppermint meringues popping up a bit on other blogs, and decided to try them out.  They were super easy and are really delicious, and I only used half the whites so tonight I’ll be making another batch, probably vanilla flavored, since I have some nice fat vanilla beans I bought off the internet.  Hooray, big fat beans!

Masquerading as after-dinner mints...

Masquerading as after-dinner mints...

I just followed this recipe, which I found while image searching meringues.  I didn’t have gel food coloring, just liquid, so mine are a little pinker.  They’re still stripey, though!

Tasty, tasty stripes.

Tasty, tasty stripes.

I still have lots of cookies left to go, and other treats.  I’m running out of sugar (and other general foodstuffs) so I have to scrape my car off tomorrow and get myself to the store, then out again a few days after that for treat delivery…

Look out for the silly boxes!

Look out for the silly boxes!

Um…I took lots of pictures.  What else do I have to say…Oh!

Sleeping Killers love festive treats, too!

Sleeping Killers love festive treats, too!

We enjoy vinyl toys around here.  And practicing photography, sometimes.  It gets dark too early!

Sort of looks like snow...a little?

Sort of looks like snow...a little?

More cookie recipes coming for the next few days.  I’ve got to go slice and bake my World Peace Cookies and attempt the vanilla meringues.  What other flavors of meringue would be good?  I might have enough matcha left to try that…

Leave a comment