Iron Cupcake December: Chocolate!!

Okay, cupcake number one!  The second one will follow in the next couple of days, since I have a lot of just plain FANTASTIC naked chocolate cupcakes left over and I’ll be picking up my other ingredient tomorrow.  I just have to figure out how I’m going to use them together!

I decorated this one extra-stupid!

I decorated this one extra-stupid!

One of Z’s absolute favorite candy bars is Mounds/Almond Joy, so I decided to try a chocolate/coconut combo.  I love this combination myself, so I looked around online and found the recipe for the Mounds coconut filling.  I remembered making some particularly tasty chocolate cupcakes a few months ago, so I dug out the recipe and put them together, along with a wonderfully rich chocolate frosting recipe I adapted from one I found on Epicurious.  I used the ice cream cone pan, then made the rest of the batter into regular cupcakes…I think I need to get some of that non-stick spray with the flour in it for the cone pan.  The cupcakes always tear enough on the outside so it’s hard to tell what they are.  However, they are perfect for filling, and were soon stuffed with the sticky coconut mixture.

Choco-Coconut Cupcakes

Vaguely cone-shaped towers of SUGAR!

Vaguely cone-shaped towers of SUGAR!

Mounds Coconut Filling:

5 oz. sweetened condensed milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

14 oz. shredded coconut

1 – 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Combine all ingredients but sugar in a large bowl.  Mix by hand, then gradually add sugar until the mixture is moist but not runny.  Cover lightly and place in refrigerator to set.

Moist Chocolate Cupcakes:

2 cups boiling water

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup butter, softened

2 1/4 cups white sugar

4 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350.  Whisk water and cocoa together until smooth, then place in refrigerator until room temperature.  Meanwhile, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.  Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then beat in eggs one by one and mix in the vanilla.  Add the flour and cocoa mixtures alternately, in fourths.  When fully combined, pour the mixture into lined cupcake pans (no more than 3/4 full) and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick or fork inserted into one comes out just clean.  Allow to cool to room temperature while you make the frosting.

Rich Cocoa Frosting

1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature

3 cups powdered sugar

6 Tbsp whole milk

1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Cream butter until light and fluffy.  Gradually beat in the sugar, then add the milk and vanilla and mix well.  Add the cocoa and continue beating until fully combined and fluffy.

To Assemble:

Cut a deep well in a cupcake and firmly pack the coconut mixture into the well.  Cut off all but the very top of the chunk of removed cake and return the “lid” to the top of the cupcake.  Repeat with the rest of the cupcakes.  Try to look innocent when someone asks you where all the cake scraps went.  Place the frosting in a pastry bag fitted with a large star tip and pipe frosting onto cupcakes, making sure to hide the lid with the frosting.  Sprinkle with coconut.

So soft and rich...

So soft and rich...

This is a competitive thing, so if this tickles your fancy (fat chance of me getting any of these out of the house for anyone else to try) you can go vote for this concoction over at No One Puts Cupcake in a Corner.  Voting’s not open yet, but you know I’ll be pimping my goodies when it is.

This month, I’m competing for some awesome stuff from my fellow (albeit more successful than I) Etsians (I think that’s correct…) Betty Turbo, Lot of Sprinkles, and Cakespy.  (Note to self: GET ON SOMETHING FOR THE SHOP THAT PEOPLE WILL WANT TO BUY AND IS GOOD ENOUGH TO OFFER AS A PRIZE.)  Also, there are cake-themed pincushies from Sweet Cuppin Cakes Bakery and Cupcakery Supply!

Corporate Sponsor Time!:

HEAD CHEFS by FIESTA PRODUCTS, http://www.fiestaproducts.com, HELLO CUPCAKE by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson, http://blog.hellocupcakebook.com, JESSIE STEELE APRONS http://www.jessiesteele.com; the CUPCAKE COURIER http://www.cupcakecourier.com; TASTE OF HOME books, http://www.tasteofhome.com. Iron Cupcake:Earth is sponsored in part by 1-800-Flowers, http://www.1800flowers.com

Another cupcake to follow soon, plus some Christmas cookies!  YAY I LOVE BAKING!

One response to “Iron Cupcake December: Chocolate!!

Leave a Reply

